Skip to content

The Hello.

November 14, 2010

In April 2010 I had my first “Urban Tour” of Newark, NJ’s riverfront with Brian McGrath. The goal was to better familiarize myself with the remediation processes of riverfront development in preparation for a summer research project in Buenos Aires. A week later I had the opportunity to participate in a “Toxic Tour” of the same area plus the more industrial areas with Ana Baptista of The Ironbound Community Corporation.

I became fascinated with the built environment and history of Newark’s relationship with the Passaic River. I began researching and listening and conversing with many different stakeholders ranging from the EPA to US Army Corp and NJ Transit to Local Residents. The more I learned, the more I realized the complex but interesting array of urban issues surrounding Newark’s riverfront. This led me to focus my advanced seminar/thesis project on mapping Newark’s riverfront development. While the theoretical framework is still a work in progress, I’m utilizing the grassroots mapping tools of Jeffrey Warren to facilitate my research.

I’m excited to move forward with this project and continue to learn about Newark through the lens’ of the many stakeholders invested in the riverfront.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 14, 2010 7:40 am

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

